I Like Big Buffets and I Cannot Lie

So I have been a little absent this past week. I have had my hands full with my three little ones and I’m trying to get my house in order BUT I got this gorgeous buffet from a little resale shop outside of my neighborhood and I had to paint it this week. Painting is therapy guys and when you have three kids under four you have to have some kind of therapy to stay semi sane!

buffet

I’m pretty sure this buffet is from the 1800’s but I’m not exactly sure. When I saw it I had this vision of giving the top a rich stain and painting the bottom a beautiful blue and distressing it heavily. Crazily enough the paint that I used help  me achieve the perfect look! I contacted Old Barn Milk Paint Company about a month ago and they sent me some beautiful colors of their milk paint as well as their amazing one step stain! Let me tell you guys I am so impressed with their stain. You paint it on and that’s it. It has a built in protective coating and it does not have a strong smell at all. It’s absolutely fantastic and I encourage you to try it. The stain color that I used on the top of this buffet was called Saddle Brown and it has a gorgeous rich tone to it.

The first thing that had to happen was sanding the old varnish off of the top. My amazing hubby always sands for me so he did the hard part.

buffet5
He’s amazing
buffet3
Getting all of the varnish off
buffet2
After sanding down

Here is a video compilation of everything we did to this buffet. This piece is my favorite piece that I have done! The finish was absolutely amazing!

If you love this color as much as I do you can find it here: Weather Vane Milk Paint

chip8chip5chip4chip2chip6chip7chip1

chip10
I can’t stop looking at this beauty!!! 
old-barn-milk-paint
Old Barn Milk Paint is amazing. Check them out today.
8 thoughts on “I Like Big Buffets and I Cannot Lie”

  1. Beautiful! I love it! It’s very similar to my buffet but my husband would never let me finish it like that. He always likes the ” before” pictures. Lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

