Vanity of Vanities

Since I can remember I have LOVED anything and everything that was old. I grew up collecting vintage costume jewels and jewelry boxes. I would watch all the old Hollywood films and gawk at all of the glamorous women with their fur coats, expensive gowns and glistening jewels. There was just something about the vintage world that captivated me and it still does. Which is another reason I LOVE vintage furniture.

costume-jewelry
Rhinestones are one of my favorite costume jewels
il_fullxfull-310338524
I had this exact jewelry box in my collection

 

AppleMark

marilyn-monroe-white-dress-fur
She is ALWAYS glamorous

As women I know that we all enjoy beautiful things. We also like to look and feel beautiful. Now that I have three kids I don’t always feel beautiful. I have extremely dark circles under my eyes, I have a little more love on my love handles than I would like to and those awesome things called stretch marks are pretty much everywhere. BUT  since I became a mother I have become a different women. Being a mother doesn’t just stretch your body, it stretches your mind and your spirit. You learn how to love another human being and it’s unlike any love you have ever experienced. You learn what it means to be selfless and to sacrifice for someone else.Now I may not feel as beautiful as I once did but I know that God is working in me to become beautiful on the inside and that my fellow mama’s is all that really matters. So the next time that you look in the mirror and you look a little more like Medusa than Marilyn remember your families don’t see what you look like in the morning. They see how you treat them.

1 Peter 3:4

“but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”

a880f4117e27370f32c54f9dc000d83c

Now, I worked on a project this week and I would like to share it with you guys! I found a Vintage Vanity at a thrift store and the finished product is AMAZING! And yes, this project is what inspired the title of this blog post.

vanityb
Naked vanity
vanityb2
Isn’t this such a cute mirror!?
me2
Yes. I always  paint barefooted.
me3
I am a messy painter!
me4
Showing off my dark circles. (Yes, I have makeup on)

mepaitning

vanity1
Second coat of paint

v1vdrawer

vanity2
This mirror is just gorgeous!
max1
Getting things done with kids
max2
Playing with sticks and leaves
andy1
Being cute
belle1
Enjoying the sunshine while mommy paints
glazing
Glazing the finished paint job. To learn how to glaze check out my tutorial here: Glazing tutorial
finished3
Gorgeous knobs make everything better! I got these at Hobby Lobby.I also distressed this piece.

finished4finished

stool1
Reupholstering the little vanity stool.
stool2
Putting fur on with a staple gun. I cut the fur to size and just pulled and stapled.
stool3
finished seat.
stool4
Finished stool! I spray painted the bottom with Rustoleum hammered. I ended up changing the fur to a darker brown because the white was too white to go with my vanity.

Don’t forget to sign up for my email list if you like what you’re reading. 

 

2 thoughts on “Vanity of Vanities”

Leave a Reply

